An Accent Wall – From Drab to Fab

Do you have a wall in your home that baffles you?   A wall that makes you wonder what room it really belongs to, or what color it should be, or even what it’s purpose is? 

Well, I have one of those walls.  It is a low wall that separates my kitchen from the hall way, but the way it is made makes it stand apart from the hallway, yet it doesn’t really belong to the kitchen either.  Ughh…what to do with a wall like this?

How about making it stand on its own!  That is what I decided to do after seeing the great accent wall patterns here and here

First I needed to find a pattern that would go with my garden themed kitchen since this wall is in such close proximity to my kitchen.  I thought about using an iron gate pattern like this beautiful ironwork I saw at Winterthur.

The only problem with a pattern like that is that if I got it a little crooked it would really look like crap.  So I drew inspiration from one of my dining room chairs and chose this pattern because it would require much less measuring.

This pattern was very easy to create because it was essentially a repeating half circle.  So I measured the wall and determined that a 10 inch semi-circle would be the best fit.

 Once I had my pattern cut out of cardboard, I measured the wall and started tracing my pattern onto the wall starting at the bottom center and working upward and outward from there. 

I traced lightly with a pencil until I had the entire wall filled with the pattern.  Then using a paint that I have had for a few years (Martha Stuart Swiss Coffee – Satin Finish), I traced the pattern with a 1/3 inch width brush. 

This took a steady hand and was rather hard on the knees, but this is what it looked like after the first coat.

Once it was dry, I could tell that it definitely needed a second coat.  So I tortured my knees a while longer and prayed (while I was down on my knees anyway) that it wasn’t going to take a third coat.

My prayers were thankfully answered when the second coat was dry and I didn’t really see a need for a third coat.  Then my husband, who is always helpful when it comes to decorating matters, asked me why I painted clam shells on the wall.  HA! 

Anyway, I think it looks nice and now the wall is no longer lost in the hum-drum that is my hallway.  What do you think?  Have you ever tried an accent wall?  Go ahead and give it a try…it’s relatively easy and if it doesn’t work out, it’s easy enough to paint over.

I hope everyone had a great Valentines Day yesterday!

Wendy Sue – The Hopewell Homesteader

Parties For Today:

Coastal Charm – Nifty Thrifty Tuesday

Tip Junkie – Handmade Projects and Parties

Todays Creative Blog – Get Your Craft On

5 thoughts on “An Accent Wall – From Drab to Fab

Leave a Reply

