Vintage Accessories

I have been absolutely loving the beautiful vintage art over at The Graphics Fairy.

In fact, her pictures inspired me to go on the hunt for some of my own family’s vintage photos, which my mom had quite a bit of, as it turns out.  So last night I got busy scanning several of the wonderful photos for my family to share. 

After my scan fest, I decided to fix up a few little accessories I had from here and there to give them a more vintage feel, and this is what I came up with.

I started with a few items that I felt needed a little pick-me-up.  Then I went on a printing spree at The Graphics Fairy site (my poor color printer cartridge!) and gathered up my Mod Podge and tools.

The first item was a jewelry box that I received as a gift from a friend for being a part of her wedding.  It was a pretty silvery box with a paisley pattern, but for some reason I can’t remember, the top had been scratched and tarnished.

After I had cleaned the top with a damp cloth and dried it well, I chose the graphic I wanted to add to the top of the box and cut it to fit.  Then I brushed on the Mod Podge in a thin layer, carefully placed my graphic and painted another layer of Mod Podge over the whole thing. 

The next item I chose was a clear heart-shaped dish that resided on my dresser before I redecorated the room.  It had previously held assorted seashells but had been empty since.  So again I cleaned it, chose a graphic, cut to fit and Mod Podged it in place.

The last item was a cute green dish that had come as part of a christmas basket.  I loved the shape and color of this little dish and I knew that it could somehow find a home in my kitchen, but it needed more pizzaz.

Since I wanted it to go in my kitchen, I chose a beautiful rose picture.

Then I added it like so….

Once I had all three pieces complete, I left them to dry for an hour, then added another layer of Mod Podge to be sure the graphics were well sealed.

When the Mod Podge was completely dry, my pieces were ready for display.

(BTW…the other items on my window sill are white – NOT YELLOW – but the combo of the overhead light and the camera setting made them look all yellow. Blech!)

I am pleased with how they turned out.  Now my old treasures have some new life.

How do you like them?  These little items have given me the itch to take on something bigger.  I can’t wait to see what the thrift sales have in store for me tomorrow.

I’ll update you all tomorrow on what I find!

Wendy Sue – The Hopewell Homesteader

BTW…I hope you all enjoyed the sneak peak at some of my grandmother’s wonderful photos.

I am linking to these parties today:

At The Picket Fence – Inspiration Fridays

My Romantic Home – Show and Tell Fridays

The Shabby Nest – Frugal Fridays

Finding Fabulous – Frugalicious Friday

French Country Cottage – Feathered Nest Friday

Fingerprints On The Fridge – Feature Yourself Friday

3 thoughts on “Vintage Accessories

Leave a Reply

