Well Versed Sakura

Yesterday I was checking out some interesting color themes at Home Goods and I was inspired by a blue room.  As you may be aware, I am the queen of blue.  So it makes sense that I wanted to try to use the idea in one of my rooms at home.

I have also been loving the book page art I have seen all over the place lately and I wanted to somehow tie that into my piece.  So I decided to do a take on the Japanese Cherry Blossom paintings, using the paper and the brilliant blue color that inspired me. 

And here you see what I ended up with….

The first thing I did was to take two 8.5″x11″ blank canvases and paint them with a bright blue acrylic paint.  I put on two layers with a foam brush sweeping back and forth across the canvas. 

These are most of the materials I used for this project.

While my canvases were drying, I made a template for a backing and petals.  I cut them out of cardboard and traced them onto pages I had ripped from one of my thrift store book purchases (Sorry Michael Crichton!!).  I cut them out…and then I cut out some more…and then finally I kept cutting. 

PHEW!  It was a lot of cutting, but I was finally ready to assemble.

I assembled the large blossoms like so….

Then I added a few pink styrofoam balls that came from an old wreath to the center for a pop of color.

Then I made several smaller flowers using just the petals (no backing).

I also made a few blossom buds from the petals like so…

Once my canvases were dry, I glued several branches to them.

When I was ready to place the blossoms, I first used the handle of a paintbrush to roll the edges of the petals.  (I forgot to take a photo of the rolling…but you get the drift).

Then, using my trusty hot glue gun, I glued the blossoms into place carefully covering any spots where glue touched the canvas while adding the branches.

The right panel…

The left panel…

And the two pieces look like this when they are placed together side by side.

And this is how they look over my favorite reading chair.

I am not done with this space, as it still needs a side table to set my books on and a small lamp of some sort. (I’m thinking maybe something in the way of a paper lantern)

So how do you like it?  It’s kinda modern for my usual taste, but I’m trying to stretch myself a little.  I’m still not sure how I feel about it….maybe my house is just better suited to the vintage look.  I think I will take them into the 9-5 gig office and see how they look in a more modern setting.

Tomorrow I am going to go back to something a little more vintage, but I did have some cute ideas for a japanese feel lantern already swirling in my brain, so look for that in the not so distant future.

Wendy Sue – The Hopewell Homesteader

BTW…I decided to add the japanese symbol for Cherry Blossom (Sakura) to the corner of each panel after I was finished to add some more interest to the blue canvas.

Linking Up To These Parties Today:

Everyday Taste – It’s A Keeper Thursday

Treasurista’s Thursday Treasures

House of Hepworth – Hookin Up With HOH

The Shabby Chic Cottage – Transformation Thursday

Somewhat Simple – Strut Your Stuff Thursdays

Leave a Reply

