Hanging Flower Lantern

My latest project was inspired by some of the really cute accessories I saw at Pottery Barn Kids.  This item in particular kicked my creativity into high gear.

Isn’t this darling??  It makes me wish my girl was little all over again!

So I decided to make something with the same girly feel to it. 

My version is made with coffee filters, watercolors and some green fabric leaves, and this is how I made it.

First I painted the edges of a BUNCH of coffee filters with very watered down red and pink watercolor.

Then I glued them onto a paper lantern I had bought some time ago from the dollar store (part of a birthday decoration) with hot glue.

Once I had it 3/4 of the way full, I hung the lantern. 

Now it was time for the leaves.  I made my leaves out of a soft green fabric and batting I had left over from blankets I had made for my twin nephews.

 

Aren’t they precious??  My sister would probably be willing to loan you one right about now…..JUST KIDDING!!

Anyway….

This is how I made the leaves:

I made a leaf pattern from cardboard and cut 8 leaves from the batting.  Then I cut the fabric about 1 inch wider all around the batting for each leaf.

Next I cut and folded the edges over the batting like so…

Then I was ready to glue them to the lantern.

I staggered my leaves in two layers.

Once the leaves were glued into place, I made a sleeve for the wire to make a sort of stem.

First I glued the seams down…

Then I folded it over and glued the seams together.

Next I threaded the wire through the sleeve and I tied it at the top with a green ribbon bow to hold it in place.

And this is the finished product.  A few of these hanging in the corner of a girly girl bedroom…wouldn’t that be darling?

I really REALLY wish my girl could have stayed little for longer, but my baby is growing up. *sigh*  It happens to the best of us I suppose.

Onward to the pre-teen years she goes…… YIKES!! 

Well, I hope you enjoyed my project today.  Let me know what you think!

Wendy Sue – The Hopewell Homesteader

Linking up to these parties today:

Today’s Creative Blog – Get Your Craft On

Coastal Charm – Thrifty Nifty Tuesday

Tip Junkie – Tip Me Tuesday

3 thoughts on “Hanging Flower Lantern

Leave a Reply

