Pre-Loved Fabric Topiary

I’ve been trying to think if the perfect accessory for this spot in my living room for a long while.  I wanted it to have a little height because the wall behind this table is mostly blank, but it had to go with my decor, and I didn’t want to spend a lot of money. 

I tossed around the idea of a wreath, and I saw some beautiful versions of fabric wreaths online, but that would require buying a wreath frame.  Now I know they are not expensive, but hey….I’m lazy, and I didn’t feel like going all the way to Wal-Mart for one stinkin’ thing.  So that is when it came to me….I already had a foam cylinder that I had used for another project this past christmas that would be perfect. 

Next I needed to find some fabric.  I had some fabric left over from my newly made curtains, but I didn’t like the thought of cutting up $5 worth of fabric.  (read: I was being cheap!)

Then I spied the perfect material!  My husband’s worn out, hole ridden old jeans were just the color I was looking for….and they had the right price tag too!

So I got my materials together:

  • A hot glue gun and some hot glue sticks (it only took about 1 & 1/2)
  • Pinking sheers
  • A foam cylinder
  • A paint brush or skewer with a pointed end
  • A pillar candle holder

(I know that there is a flower-pot and a block of foam in the picture above, but about half way through this project, I changed my mind and decided to use a pillar candle holder instead.)

Next I cut the panels of material from the legs of the jeans.

Then I measured and marked off squares (mine were 1.5 inch x 2 inch, but you could make them a little larger), and cut them out with the pinking sheers so that they had fringes.

After I had LOTS of squares of material ready, I got out my trusty hot glue gun and fired it up.

To attach the squares to the form, I put the point of my skewer in the middle of the fabric square.

Then I folded the edges of the fabric up and held it around the skewer.

Added a drop of hot glue to the end of the point in the material.

And pushed the material into the foam.

I did those steps over and over, placing the fabric pieces close enough that I could not see the green form.  Like so…..

I kept going……

When I was almost finished,  I added my accent bow. 

Then I added fabric to any areas that I could still see the foam.

When it was complete, I simply placed it on top of the pillar candle holder in my living room.  (I could have used double-sided tape to hold it to the pillar holder, but I like to live dangerously!)  

And this is the final result.

I really like how this looks in my living room.  So much so that I think I will make another one sometime in the future so that I have a pair. 

Wouldn’t a pair of these look super cute on the mantle of a fireplace? (If only I had a fireplace…*Sigh*)

This could be done in a wreath form (which would take a few pairs of jeans and some serious cutting) or with a foam ball topiary form.  The possibilities are endless.

But I’m on to the next project for now.  Come back tomorrow when I will show you how I make the cutest pins and purse embellishments!

Have a good Day!

The Hopewell Homesteader

Leave a Reply

